Learning That Lasts: Helping Students Remember and Use What You Teach

Posted: July 14, 2014 by broadyesl in professors

Reblogged from:

http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/effective-teaching-strategies/learning-lasts-helping-students-remember-use-teach/?ET=facultyfocus:e76:119382a:&st=email

Some common-sense ideas for professors.

How often do you hear the following sentiments from students?

  • “I won’t ever use anything I am learning in this class, but I have to take it to graduate.”
  • “I don’t care about this class. I just need a passing grade.”
  • “I can’t remember anything I learned in that class.”

- See more at: http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/effective-teaching-strategies/learning-lasts-helping-students-remember-use-teach/?ET=facultyfocus:e76:119382a:&st=email#sthash.glV3KIVq.dpuf

How often do you hear the following sentiments from students?

  • “I won’t ever use anything I am learning in this class, but I have to take it to graduate.”
  • “I don’t care about this class. I just need a passing grade.”
  • “I can’t remember anything I learned in that class.”

- See more at: http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/effective-teaching-strategies/learning-lasts-helping-students-remember-use-teach/?ET=facultyfocus:e76:119382a:&st=email#sthash.glV3KIVq.dpuf

How often do you hear the following sentiments from students?

  • “I won’t ever use anything I am learning in this class, but I have to take it to graduate.”
  • “I don’t care about this class. I just need a passing grade.”
  • “I can’t remember anything I learned in that class.”

- See more at: http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/effective-teaching-strategies/learning-lasts-helping-students-remember-use-teach/?ET=facultyfocus:e76:119382a:&st=email#sthash.glV3KIVq.dpuf

Leave a Reply

